One wedding outfit down; one more to go!

After a somewhat emotionally draining Saturday of shopping (sorry if I sounded like a spoiled brat in my previous post), I am very happy to say that I have chosen my wedding ceremony outfit!

I described a bit of my search last post, and I thought I’d go into more detail today.

After perusing several Indian fashion websites, online stores, and one Indian wedding show in February, I had the following criteria:

1. Anarkali suit, which, if you recall, looks something like this:

Suits are easier to walk in, sit in, go to the washroom in…overall easier to do anything in. Anarkalis are less commonly worn at weddings, and so I wanted to do something a little different.

However, I wasn’t completely opposed to a lengha.

2. Red.

Red is the traditional bridal colour in Indian and East Asian weddings. Red symbolizes good luck and prosperity and is associated with auspicious occasions (hence all the little red envelopes handed out at Chinese New Year). Indian brides are starting branch out, and I’ve seen brides in pink, beige, blue, and green. Looks pretty, but not my thing.

I wanted to pay honour to tradition and stick with red. It also doesn’t hurt that red is one of my favourite colours (the couch in my apartment is red).

Most importantly,  I look great in red. A little vanity never hurts, right?

3. Not too gawdy

Wedding outfits tend to be heavily embroidered. One look through my closet, and you’ll notice the lack of frou-frou. I like clean, simple lines, and solid colours. Prints are a rarity in my wardrobe. Ruffles are kept to a minimum. I like unique cuts and combining pieces together to keep my outfits interesting. I like to maintain these principles with my Indian clothes. Embroidery is usually simple, there isn’t too much bling, and I don’t like too much poof.

For example, although the lengha below is beautiful, there is way too much going on:

Each region of India also has its own unique embroidery style, and embroidery is done by hand. There are different embroidery techniques and numerous materials can be used:  silk thread; metal thread; sequins; shiny stones; semi-precious stones; mirrors; beads; pearls (usually fake)–some outfits can have all of the above! Often, the more embroidery an outfit has, the heavier it is. Imagine walking, sitting, standing, and just breathing in an outfit that weighs 10 lbs or more! Seriously, it can happen! One storeowner told me about a bride who wore an outfit so heavy she could not even lift the dupatta (shawl) to put it on her head!!

I did not want that to be me. Not only is heavy embroidery not my taste, I’m litte AND I sweat easily!! With all that weight pressing down on me, I would look like Whitney Houston performing at a BET Awards Show.

Someone pass her a facecloth!!

4. Something blue

J looks super hot in blue (which he is well aware of), and we thought it would be awesome if he wore a blue sherwani to the ceremony.

Hot.

We also wanted our outfits to coordinate…not match, but go (famous words a la Stacey & Clinton). Red and blue are a great combination and unexpected for an Indian wedding ceremony. Many couples will have a red bridal outfit and a beige sherwani.  So, I was hoping to find an outfit that had some blue embroidery or stones in it. Inspirations:

A blue border on the dupatta and blue stones interspersed through the blouse and lengha

Sari with a blue border, choli, and stones interspersed

I’m quite decisive when it comes to clothes shopping. 9/10, l know what I like immediately. I anticipated that my bridal outfit shopping process would be similar.  I wanted to do my research beforehand–online, word or mouth, wedding shows–and limit the places I visited. Again, I used the same decision making process as I did for the planner, venue, and photographer.

In my next post, I’ll write about the places I visited and my final decision!

xoxo

LBB

2 thoughts on “One wedding outfit down; one more to go!

  1. I am in the same situation as you were…..I guess I am going to read your blogs to find out what you went for and why…

Leave a Reply

